St. King Louis of France

Louis IX (25 April 1214 – 25 August 1270), commonly Saint Louis, was King of France from 1226 to his death. He was also Count of Artois (as Louis II) from 1226 to 1237. Born at Poissy, near Paris, he was a member of the House of Capet and the son of King Louis VIII and Blanche of Castile. He is the only canonized King of France and consequently there are many places named after him, most notably St. Louis, Missouri in the United States. He established the Parlement of Paris. St. Louis was also a tertiary of the Order of the Holy Trinity and Captives (the Trinitarians). The General Chapter of the Trinitarian Order formally affiliated St. Louis IX to the Order in Cerfroid on June 11, 1256.

Pope Boniface VIII proclaimed the canonization of Louis in 1297. Louis IX is often considered the model of the ideal Christian monarch. Because of the aura of holiness attached to his memory, many Kings of France were called Louis, especially in the Bourbon dynasty, who directly descended from one of his younger sons. The Congregation of the Sisters of Saint Louis is a Roman Catholic religious order founded in 1842 and named in his honour.

(photo credit)
Death of St. Louis

St. Louis Cathedral, New Orleans, Louisiana USA


  1. Another beautiful blog, Sanctus!

    There is a St. Louis church in downtown St. Paul, but I have never been in it. Should visit some day and check it out to see what stained glass they may have.

  2. Hello there Swiss Miss and thanks for stopping by! I've been to mass at St. Louis in downtown and it was wonderful, excellent choir and very solemn mass. This is right up there with the Cathedral of St. Paul and St. Agnes.